top of page
  • marcoferrante

Resident birds of the Azores Project



Already before coming to Terceira Island, I was brooding the idea of trying to photograph all the bird species of the island. This turned out to be excessively ambitious. Because of their geographic position, the Azores archipelagos gets occasional migrant from both Europe and North America, and occasional migrants are difficult to spot and photograph.


Therefore, I am going to focus only on resident species in Terceira Island, for the moment.

I am a bad birdwatcher (according to Simon Barnes' delightful book: How to Be a Bad Birdwatcher, as well as to my judgment!). May the Luck be with me!


You can find a complete checklist of the avifauna of the Azores here: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4678808/pdf/biodiversity_data_journal-3-e6604.pdf.


43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hug me!

bottom of page