top of page
  • marcoferrante

Resident Birds of Terceira Island: Miscellaneous

I guess that seabirds and waders will go into two massive separate posts. Here I am going to show few photos (sigh) of the remaining birds. I have seen the common buzzard (Buteo buteo), the common pigeon (Columba livia), the common woodpigeon (Columba palumbus)...and that's it! So, I should really do birdwatching more often.


Family Accipitridae

Buteo buteo rothschildi (Swann, 1919)



Family Strigidae

Asio otus otus (Linnaeus, 1758)


(missing...)


Family Psittacidae


Psittacula krameri (Scopoli, 1769)


(missing...)


Family Columbidae

Columba livia (domestica) Gmelin, 1789


Columba palumbus azorica Hartert, 1905


Streptopelia decaocto (Frivaldszky, 1838)




Family Phasianidae

Alectoris rufa hispanica (Seoane, 1894)


(missing...)


Coturnix coturnix conturbans Hartert, 1917


(missing...)


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hug me!

bottom of page